I recently had one of my worst flares to date…

The start of August wasn’t great, my Lupus intensely flared up. I picked up a virus and due to that, it went haywire causing an array of issues. I’m late writing about this, it happened from Saturday the 5th of August to, well, now as I’m still recovering. You unfortunately don’t wake up one morning recovered from a flare, it can take days to weeks or even months to recover.

Friday the 4th, I was my usual self, maybe a little more fatigued than usual but nonetheless – nothing dramatically wrong. However, that night I slept dreadfully, I fell asleep around 3am but even then I woke every hour with a nauseous feeling. Every time I woke up, the sun was getting brighter and at around 8:30am I decided to just get up. I sat outside with a cup of tea and by 9:30am decided to try go back to sleep, as soon as I got into bed I was back up and vomiting. By 12pm I had vomited 3 times and had given up on sleep entirely.

Sunday the 6th. I woke up, from another sleepless night and feeling worse. This was the day my Lupus started to rear it’s ugly head. I was sat drinking water and I was almost certain I was about to faint, luckily I didn’t. But, I was shaking, my head was pounding, my joint pain was relentless and I started vomiting again. Just keeping my eyes open was exhausting and I couldn’t bare the thought of moving. I couldn’t even tell you what conversations I had and with who that day, I was so exhausted and in pain I can barley recall the day. What I can recall though, is it was the first time since my diagnosis that I rang out of hours for help. I was taking Tramadol and even though it dulled the pain, it wasn’t helpful and I was still suffering. They told me I had to see a doctor and on the way there I said to myself “I can’t be bothered with this illness anymore” because I genuinely didn’t have the energy to try and fight back. I wanted to curl in a ball, cry and honestly, disappear. Luckily, I was the only one in the waiting room so my wait was less than 5 minutes. The doctor took my temperature and it was raised, checked my ears and listened to my chest and they were clear. He checked my throat and he said it was red, he had me do a urine sample which was also clear and he checked my stomach which was sore as he pressed down on it. His diagnosis was a virus or the start of laryngitis, since the visit my throat hasn’t got worse so it was a virus all along. He couldn’t prescribe me anything stronger than Tramadol, so he prescribed me more to keep taking. After the checks and prescription were done he had a chat with me, he told me I need to get my Rheumatology appointment brought forward and told me that I really need to go on steroids. As soon as I heard the words “you need steroids but I can’t prescribe you them” I wanted the ground the swallow me. From the start of my diagnosis, I have been dead set against going on steroids unless I’m told I will die without them. I am yet to bring my Rheumatology appointment forward for the fear of being put on steroids.

This week has been rough. I’ve eaten next to nothing, my joints have been so sore and my fatigue just doesn’t seem to be improving – it feels like I’m at a dead end.
I try my very best to stay optimistic but this week has tested me, I’ve found it very difficult to take part in everyday activities and do basic tasks and I’ve felt extremely low in mood. I hate the thought of people thinking I’m snappy or horrible, I try my best to not be and it’s for those people I try my best to keep a smile on my face. My mood is slowly improving but I’m still struggling with a lot of pain, aches, headaches and nausea, but thankfully I haven’t vomited since Friday.

It’s the first viral infection I’ve had since being put on immune suppressants, which is good going as I have been on them since November. I was told I would more than likely constantly catch viruses and bugs. And, because of my lowered immune system it’s taking longer for me to shift it.

I can only hope that I start to properly improve this week. This has probably been my worst flare to date.

2 thoughts on “I recently had one of my worst flares to date…

Leave a Reply

