Does Lupus hang over you like a dark cloud?

People have asked me “do you ever feel depressed?” and I reply “no”. The months that followed my diagnosis, my GP frequently asked “how are your moods?” or “do you feel low?”. Truthfully, in the beginning, I did feel low, but isn’t that expected? I was diagnosed with 5 auto-immune diseases – none curable. I still told him “no”. My low mood was not depression. I used to think to myself are people waiting for me to crack? Now, I realise that people just cannot fathom it happening to them and their first thought is “I’d get depressed”

When I sit back and think about it, there’s absolutely no reason for me to depressed, I can’t think of one thing in my life that would justify me being depressed. You might be thinking “is she serious?!” but, yes I’m serious. I have the most wonderful people around me who catch me when I fall. I have a roof over my head, food, water, clothes and I’m not laid in a hospital bed clinging onto my life. Yes, I have bad days – days I ask a God I don’t believe in “why me? What did I do wrong?” and days where I think “this is it, today is the day it finishes me off”. But, I get through those days with the help of my family and friends and I stand back up, ready to face it again. So, no, there’s no reason for me to depressed. 

People ask me “are you okay?” and I reply “yes” each time I’m asked. Sometimes it’s visibly clear that I’m not okay, but my answer will always be yes. I think that’s due to stubbornness, if I say “no, I’m not”, in my head I’ve let it win for that day. I might not look like I’m winning, but I am. 

Does Lupus hang over me like a dark cloud? No. No it does not. I treat Lupus like a game, hence my ‘winning’ reference above. So far, I’m doing great, I’m in the lead. You have to be one step ahead of it, but every so often it’ll gain a lead and push me off the board completely, but I will always climb back up and laugh at it as I regain my winning position. It’s a tough game but it’s a game I have to play, a game with no end. In my mind, I’ve painted a picture of what Lupus looks like. It’s huge, both by height and width, black and cloudy figure. I guess I did that so I could have a visual of what I was up against. I can safely say, I’m not scared of it or what it’s potential is. 

If I let this horrible black figure hang over me, I’d be screwed. I will never cower behind it, but I’ll always be stood in front of it, waiting for it to make it’s next move on the board. 

Leave a Reply

