Lupus and being abroad: diary entry 5. Would I recommend it?

I’m back in little old England, I landed at 5am this morning after the most dreadful flight – a toddler screaming for the majority of a 4 and half hour flight isn’t what anyone wants. I started travelling last night at 10pm Turkish time (8pm British time), so it was a long night of waiting around and what seemed like endless security checks at Dalaman Airport. 

I was awake for just over 24 hours, which is a risk in itself with already having chronic fatigue, you never know if forcing yourself to stay conscious for such a prolonged period of time will cause a flare up. For me, it usually does, I’m currently feeling extremely fatigued, aching, headache and I keep getting waves of nausea. 

Before I get to the whole “would I recommend putting yourself in blazing heat with a illness that hates heat” discussion I thought I’d recap on my final two days.

Thursday: Wonderful, despite the temperature reaching a firey 40+° and me being on codeine for joint pain in the knees. I was under a parasol for the whole day and yes, probably completely oblivious to the fact the temperature felt like fire around me due to being on codiene. It was our last day on Coco Beach, we stayed on the beach until the Garson no longer took orders. I honestly couldn’t tell it was that hot but again, codeine was clouding my mind. On the evening we walked around Icmeler, catching up with friends from a previous year of holidaying. It was just a lovely day. I took tramadol that evening and slept better than I did the whole holiday. 

Coco Beach.

Final dip in the sea at Coco.

Friday: In contrast to Thursday, this was a horrible day. It was 45°, that’s what the barman told us at around 5pm so during the afternoon it was probably hotter. My day started later, I got to the private jetty at 10:30am. I couldn’t cope. I was in and out of the sea like a yo-yo, as soon as I was out, I needed to go back in. I felt like I was going to hit the deck at any moment. We went for lunch and sat in the shade with cold drinks, that seemed to bring me back around. As soon as we got back to the jetty, I deteriorated again. It’s like a sense of being restless because you just don’t know how to gain control of the symptoms you’re experiencing. In the end I left the jetty and went back to the room and laid on the bed for about 30 minutes, I took a shower and then started packing. There’s absolutely no way I could of sat in the sun any longer. As you know, by nighttime I was embarking on my long journey home. It was an extremely long and tiresome day. 

Would I recommend it? Yes. Do it, go on holiday. Lupus strips us of so many things in our lives. We put up with so much, we’re beaten down by our own bodies daily – why shouldn’t you be rewarded for being a total badass and fighting yourself daily? 

Yes, there will be bad days, but don’t feel guilty for needing to go rest in your room or sit in the shade. If I’m honest, I spent the majority of my holiday in the shade, I didn’t put myself in the sun for prolonged periods of time, if you do that then you are asking for trouble. I understand some Lupus patients suffer a considerable amount in the sun and their rashes turn to big blisters, it’s a no-brainer on why they avoid holidaying abroad. I do suffer in the sun, it does bring me out in rashes but not the extreme scale that it blisters. If you react moderately well in the sun, try it. It’s 14 days out of 365, you have nothing to lose by trying it. So what if I flared? I was going to flare anyway with the damp weather in England. Instead, I chose to flare in the sun and a waiter brought an ice cold drink to my lounger. You see, that’s the point, we flare in cold weather and we flare in hot weather…we can’t win. 

Some people are probably still wondering why I did it to myself, I technically brought bad days upon myself. Why? Why did you make yourself suffer? And the only answer I have for that is I refuse to let this illness control every aspect of my life. I will never bow down to it. And I certainly will not let it frighten me, not now and not ever. 

Leave a Reply

