Lupus and being abroad: diary entry 2 (19/6/17)

I wouldn’t say today was a write off, but it wasn’t the best day. I didn’t expect my first “bad” day to be on my third day here, I expected it to be at least 5-6 days in. But, I guess that’s Lupus to T – unpredictable. 

What confuses me the most is, today is cooler than yesterday, there’s more of a breeze. I mean, yesterday Lupus had its moments but it seemed to clear after an hour or so – especially after cooling off in the sea. Not today, I can’t shift it. It’s a feeling I struggle to describe (I say that a lot, don’t I?). My eyesight goes fuzzy and I get lightheaded, sometimes I think I’m about to faint if I don’t sit or lay down. My head starts to pound or feels like it’s swelling. It’s generally just a very uncomfortable/unwell feeling, which sucks whilst you’re trying to have enjoy your holiday. 

I did find myself some shade to sit in whilst having a cold drink, that seemed to help a little. During my shaded rest, the sun crept behind the trees which shaded my sun lounger so I went back to lay there and continued reading. All I’ve really done today is read and drink very cold drinks with ice in – I can actually enjoy a drink with ice in as I’m practically Raynauds Phenomenon free for 2 weeks. Saying that, I haven’t dipped in the pool all that much today because as soon as I get in I’m covered in goosebumps, but it is a very cold pool, but it hasn’t aggregated my Raynauds at all. 

I’m very tired but again, it’s a mix of the heat, general Lupus and I’m probably still recovering from the travelling. I haven’t suffered too much from joint pain, it’s still there especially in my knees and elbows – as I’m writing this it’s starting in my left wrist. Just like at home, it comes and goes when it pleases. I’m still regularly taking paracetamol and ibuprofen, I don’t really want to touch codeine in the day time. I don’t want to be in a haze in high heats or around water. I’ll take it on an evening before going to sleep. I’m still chugging water like it’s going out of fashion but my favourite drink today has proven to be Orange Fanta, it’s a bit more refreshing than plain water. 

I seem to be taking the sun well on my poor feet, I’ve been sat with my beach cover up over them as they feel like there on fire! My ears too, apparently the sun has taken a liking to those. Don’t worry, I won’t be returning to the UK with just tanned feet and ears – the rest of me is tanning as well. 

I’m back in the hotel room now, with the air conditioning. I’m probably going to lay on the bed for the rest of the afternoon to try make me feel a bit more human. Mum and I will probably venture back out in the early evening.

I’ll be sure to keep this updated as much as I can. Thank you for reading! 

Leave a Reply

