Lupus and being abroad: day 1 (17/6/17)

Hello from beautiful Turkey! The weather today has been glorious, reaching around 33°c. This is my first post on how I’m surviving in this heat, because as most of you know, Lupus and heat don’t tend to mix well. 

I arrived at my hotel at 4:30am, although it was 2am UK time…and I had 45 minutes sleep because I’m apparently an overgrown excitable child. The flight was, meh, it was okay. I don’t mind flying, in fact I love take off but that’s about it, after an hour I start to get sore and extremely uncomfortable. Mix that with screaming children and a screaming need for nicotine (I’m an ex-smoker and I’m probably too addicted to my e-cigarette) it’s just not a fun situation to be in. But, needs must if you want to end up in a beautiful place like this…

7am today. I watched the prettiest sunrise.

So, to deal with the intense heat? Water, and I mean, chug so much water down that you think you might explode. Surround yourself in water, get in that sea and pool…although I found the pool pretty cold so I preferred the sea. This hotel has two pools so I’m planning on seeing how the other is tomorrow. 

I also applied factor 50 suncream regularly, topped with a factor 30 facial sunscream and sun protective balm for my lips and nose…if you ever need suncream, come to me. 

I took painkillers often as well, however they haven’t stopped my headache which I think is a combination of fatigue, heat and generally just having a disease that gives the gift of headaches regularly. My left ankle started to seize up later this afternoon, mum thinks it could be a side affect of the glamorous flight stockings I had to wear. They are so tight and the tighest point is at the ankle. Since I also have Antiphospholipid Syndrome it’s crucial I wear them as flying is a big risk factor for me developing a DVT. 

Overall, I’m pretty happy with how I managed my first day. There was some points of the day I thought “this is too hot, if I don’t cool down asap, I think I’ll die on this lounger or just disintegrate into it”. I’m not naive and I expect some days to be tough in the heat, but I’ll carry on with what I’m doing because for the most part, it works. 

I don’t plan to update this blog everyday with how it’s going because I think it would eventually get tiresome for you to read. However, I am planning a to write more than just this and if a day doesn’t go quite how I like, I’ll let you all know. 

I have to get a shower now because my hair and body is full of salt, but I’ll leave you with some pictures of my day! 

Still alive…didn’t disintegrate into my lounger.

View from one of my many loungers today!
Another view…from another lounger!

Leave a Reply

